Akufo-Addo Congratulates New NPP National Officers

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has congratulated all newly elected executives of the New Patriotic Party who were elected at the Party’s National Delegates’ Conference, held in Koforidua, in the Eastern region, on Saturday, 7 July, 2018.

In a statement, the president said “the Party is to be commended for the efficient and successful manner in which the election of new officers, who are to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years, was conducted. We have shown, once again, that we are the Party that has an abiding faith and belief in multi-party democracy.”

Mr. Akufo-Addo added “I have, on occasion, stated that internal party contests are not about winners and losers. They are about the Party winning. In adhering to the time-honoured tradition, values and principles of the NPP, I urge all to rally in unity behind the new National Officers of our Party, and ensure that we record another famous, historic victory in the 2020 elections, so we can effect the social and economic transformation of our nation that our people require, and, thereby, help deliver progress and prosperity to them.

“I thank the officials of the Electoral Commission for their assistance in supervising the election. May God bless the NPP and us all, and bless our homeland Ghana, and make her great and strong.”

Freddie Blay was on Saturday elected national chairman by delegates of the party after he beat Stephen Ntim and Dr. Amoako Baah at the Saturday polls at Koforidua in the Eastern region.

The former lawmaker garnered 3,021 votes as against Ntim’s 2,515. Dr Baah managed a paltry 18 votes.

Acting General Secretary John Boadu was also elected to be substantive General Secretary obtaining 4,277. While Sammi Awuku garnered 4,913 votes to become the National Organiser for the party.

Below is the list of winners on the night

Chairman – Freddie Blay

1st Vice Chairman – Rita Talata Asobayire

2nd vice- FF Anto

3rd vice- Michael Kwasi Omari-Wadie

Gen Secretary- John Boadu

Nat Organiser – Sammi Awuku

Women’s Organiser – Kate Gyamfua

National Youth Organiser – Henry Nana Boakye

National Treasurer – Abankwa Yeboah

Nasara Coordinator – Abdul Aziz Futah

The results

Freddy Blay = 3021
Ntim = 2558
Amoako = 18

General Secretary
John K. Boadu = 4,277
Richard Ahiagbah = 1,274

National Organizer
Samuel Awuku = *4,914*you
Sulemana = 466
Emmanuel Kodua = 146

Women Organizer
1. Kate Gyamfua = 686
2. Joyce Zempare =109

Youth Organizer
1. Nana B = 423
2. Dominic = 243
3. Kamal = 102

Nasara Coordinator
Abdul Aziz = 201

Women Organizer
1. Kate Gyamfua = 686
2. Joyce Zempare =109

Youth Organizer
1. Nana B = 423
2. Dominic = 243
3. Kamal = 102

Abankwa Yeboah Won

1st Vice Rita Asobayire = 3,670
2nd Vice FF Anto = 3,185
3rd Vice Omare Wadie = 3,028


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button