Partey Wins Footballer Of The Year Award

Black Stars midfielder Thomas Partey has been voted Footballer of the Year at the maiden Ghana Football Awards held on Sunday at the Marriot Hotel in Accra.

The Atlético Madrid midfielder beat off competition from Swansea star Jordan Ayew, Richard Ofori of Maritzburg United in South Africa and Aston Villa’s Albert Adomah.

The midfielder had an outstanding year, helping Atletico Madrid to Europa Cup glory and finishing the season as runners up in the La Liga.

He played over 50 games for the Spanish giants last season.

With the national team, Partey scored his first ever career hat-trick with an inspired performance against Congo in Brazzaville in the World Cup qualifiers.

The 25-year-old has been the main man for Coach Kwesi Appiah since his reappointment as head Coach of the national team.

The first awardee of the night was Aduana Stars and Black Stars B goalie Joseph Addo who was named the Goalkeeper of the Year, who was recognized for his role in Ghana’s 2017 WAFU Zone B Cup triumph and league title success with Aduana in the Ghana Premier League. He edged goalies Razak Abalora and Richard Ofori to the award.

Addo’s club Aduana also emerged the Team of the Year and 20-year-old Majeed Ashimeru of Red Bull Salzburg pipped Princella Adubea (Dampen Darkoa Ladies) and David Abagna (Wa All Sars) to the Future Star of the Year award reserved for players aged 20 years or below.

Star forward for Ampem Darkoa Ladies, the serial National Women’s League – Princella Adubea was named the Women’s Footballer of the Year while a superb strike by Joseph Mensah emerged Goal of the Year.

Below is the full list of award winners;

  1. Goalkeeper of the Year

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United & Black Stars)

Razak Abalora (WAFA)

Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars & Black Stars B) – WINNER

  1. Team of the Year


Aduana Stars – WINNER

Ampem Darkoa ladies

  1. Future Star Award

Majeed Ashimeru (WAFA & Black Stars B) – WINNER

David Abagna Sandan (Wa All Stars)

Princella Adubea (Black Princesses & Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

  1. Foreign-based Player of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) – WINNER

  1. Goal of the Year – Joseph Mensah
  2. Women’s Footballer of the Year – Princella Adubea- WINNER
  3. Living Legend Award – Anthony Baffoe – WINNER
  4. Home-Based Player of the Year

Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) – WINNER

Stephen Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea)

Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars)

  1. Coach of the Year

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) – WINNER

Klaus Rasmussen (WAFA)

Mercy Tagoe (Black Queens Coach)

  1. Thumbs Up Award – Asamoah Gyan (WINNER)
  2. Ghana Footballer of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) – WINNER

Thomas Abbey (Ismaily)

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button